Masala Chai Truffles

8 Feb

When I’m not baking, I play with chocolate. This past weekend, I decided to make masala chai (spiced tea) truffles. The first step was cold infusing tea into my ganache. Cold infusion basically means you let your ingredients slowly release their flavors and aromas in the liquid you’re trying to flavor without using heat. In this case, I soaked black tea leaves in coconut milk overnight and strained them out before using the milk to make my ganache. Though you do have to use more tea to draw out the flavor, the benefit of cold infusion is that you get the great flavor of the tea without any bitterness that you might get from seeping it in hot liquid.

To make the ganache, I used approximately equal amounts of coconut milk and chocolate by volume (if I were using something less fatty and more watery such as soy milk, I’d decrease the milk-to-chocolate ratio).  I simply heated the tea-infused milk until it just began to boil and then poured it over my bowl of dark chocolate. I let it sit for a moment and then whisked it until completely melted and smooth.

Next, the ganache went in the fridge to cool and harden for a couple hours. Once it hardened, I scooped small balls of the ganache and coated the balls in a mixture of cocoa powder, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, ginger and peppercorn. I don’t have exact measurements to provide, unfortunately, because I just winged this. Luckily, truffles are very easy to make! And the fun part is that you can improvise with flavors — both with the ganache filling and the coatings.

The blend of spices and hint of tea in the ganache give these truffles a subtle but sophisticated flavor that I love. What’s your favorite truffle flavor that you’ve made or eaten?

3 Responses to “Masala Chai Truffles”

  1. Sarah (Flavoropolis) February 8, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Wow. I’ve never seen coconut milk in a truffle, I bet it is out of this world! I like to make simple raw truffles from coconut oil, cacao powder, and agave, but it’s nice to try something more exciting every once in a while.
    You know so many interesting cooking techniques!

    • Jen February 19, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      I’ve never tried raw truffles before — sounds yummy!! I’m not sure where you live, but here in the Bay Area there is a chocolate company called Coracao Confections that makes all raw truffles and bon bons and they are to DIE FOR. They do online orders, too, I believe. http://www.coracaoconfections.com

  2. br February 19, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    i’ll bet the results melted in the mouth. coconuts are awesome; virtually every part of it can be used for something.

    was the coconut milk-tea-infusion left out overnight at room temperature?

Leave a Reply

