Still here

7 Jun

My my, it has been a long time since I’ve posted, hasn’t it? The past few months have been a fun and eye-opening culinary adventure and I just haven’t had the time or energy for personal baking but I’m baaaack! My adventure has included learning artisan bread baking as well as the opportunity to intern with chef extraordinaire Eric Tucker at Millennium Restaurant. If you ever dined there on a Wednesday night sometime between mid-January through April, you may have even seen me working on the line. Having gotten to witness a true master at work, all I can say is wow, wow, WOW!

Through Chef Tucker, I got a position at Encuentro Cafe and Wine Bar (which he co-owns) and have been working there part-time since March. Though my work had mostly been focused on producing savory items before, I now produce the desserts on the days I do prep. Co-owner Chef Lacey Sher has been extremely receptive to my suggesting new dessert items for the menu, which, as you can imagine, is very exciting for me. One of the desserts I introduced to the menu recently is a raw, vegan strawberry “cheesecake”  that also happens to be gluten-free. The crust is made with almonds, dates and cocoa powder and the filling consists of pureed raw cashews, strawberries, lemon juice, agave nectar, lecithin and coconut oil. We top the cheesecake with agave-sweetened strawberry slices. It’s deeeeelicious, if I do say so myself! Sometimes I even come back to the restaurant after my shift just to share a slice with my honey.

Cheesecake used to be one of my favorite desserts when I was an omnivore, and while the raw, cashew-based version tastes nothing like baked, cream cheese-based version, I think it’s tasty in its own right. The cashews give the cheesecake a rich, creamy texture, the agave and ripe strawberries a light sweetness, and the lemon juice a slight tang reminiscent of cream cheese.

I got four, overflowing baskets of strawberries at a farm and a bag of lemons from a friend’s lemon tree over the weekend so I decided to make a strawberry cheesecake that I don’t have to share with coworkers or customers (all mine!!). This time, I made strawberry-pistachio cheesecake — still a strawberry filling, but with a pistachio crust and no cocoa. Also, instead of making one big cheesecake, I opted for individual-sized versions so I can freeze the extra portions and not tempt myself to eat everything in one sitting.

I’ve gotta say, I’m partial to the strawberry-pistachio flavor combo. The pistachio crust provides a buttery flavor that complements the strawberry filling well. I imagine a bit of cardamom in the crust would also be a delicious addition. Either way, I suggest you give raw cheesecake making a try; it’s truly amazing what you can do with cashews. If you need to satisfy your craving now or are too impatient to make one yourself, go grab a slice at Encuentro while it lasts!

6 Responses to “Still here”

  1. bora June 7, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    this is insane. i’m slobbering over myself.

    you’re awesome! keep up the good work, and it’s great to read your blogs again.

    • Jen June 20, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks! It’s great to be back…

  2. Shannon Michelle June 7, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    YUM! I’m totally doing the raw thing right now so this is right up my alley!

    Thank yoooooou!

    • Jen June 20, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      That’s awesome that you’re doing the raw thing. I really enjoy raw food and have been trying to eat mostly raw lately, but don’t have the discipline to keep up with it. If you stop by to try the cheesecake, let me know what you think!

  3. Lorriann Raji June 13, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    It looks great! And gluten free is a great bonus. I’m sure I’d like it too! Is it on the menu now?!

    • Jen June 20, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Yes, it’s on the menu now. Please come by and try it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

