Waffles à la Mode

31 Mar

I love waffles! I don’t make them often though because I usually go crazy and end up making and eating them for several days in a row. My friend Jeannie came over for breakfast on Sunday and I made waffles, roasted potatoes, sautéed kale and Field Roast smoked apple sage sausages. We stuffed ourselves full of, well, everything. I think I ate three whole waffles (on top of everything else) so you’d think I’d be sick of waffles the next day. But noooo! First thing I did when I got home Monday was make more waffles.

When it comes to waffles, I like them thick with crispy outsides and fluffy insides, and plain so I can use them as a blank canvas for toppings, kind of like what you get at waffle shops in Brussels. This waffle is not a true gaufre (or even veganized version of one), however, but a plain–and delicious!–American-style waffle that is neutral enough to be topped with just about anything you want. As a late-afternoon treat, I topped mine with sweet strawberries that Jeannie gave me (thanks, Jeannie!), tangy non-dairy frozen yogurt I’d made on Saturday and bittersweet ganache I’d made earlier in the week.

I don’t like things very sweet, so this was perfect for me. If you want something sweeter, you can substitute ice cream for the frozen yogurt, use caramelized fruit or compote in place of fresh fruit, drizzle the waffle with caramel sauce, etc. The options are endless!

Waffles à la Mode

Yield: varies depending on your waffle maker; it made 5 large waffles for me

Ingredients

Waffles
2 1/2 cups AP flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
2 cups soy milk
1/4 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup brown sugar OR 3 Tb agave nectar
extra oil for brushing

Frozen Yogurt
1 – 24 oz container of vanilla non-dairy yogurt (I used Whole Soy brand organic vanilla soy yogurt)

Additional Toppings
1 pint of strawberries, sliced
1/2-1 cup ganache/chocolate sauce (depends on how much you want to eat!)

Directions

Waffles: Combine dry ingredients together in medium-sized bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk wet ingredients together. Add wet ingredients to dry and whisk until thoroughly combined. Small lumps are OK! Don’t over mix or you’ll get tough waffles. I like to let the batter sit for 15-30 minutes before using, but you can use it immediately. Tip: For nice, crispy outsides, I turn my waffle maker to the max temp and brush oil on both plates before cooking each waffle.

Frozen Yogurt: It doesn’t get easier than this! Empty the container of non-dairy yogurt into your ice cream maker and run according to your machine’s directions. It should yield about one pint of frozen yogurt.

To assemble: Top waffle with sliced strawberries, a scoop of frozen yogurt, and drizzle chocolate sauce on top.

If for some reason you have more waffles than you can eat in one sitting (I’m not sure how this is possible!), store them in ziplock bags and freeze them. When you next have an hankering for waffles, simply toast them in your toaster or oven — they reheat really well!

One Response to “Waffles à la Mode”

  1. B March 31, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    i’m so excited to try the frozen soy yogurt. a most excellent idea, jen!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

