Coconut-Sesame Banana Fritters

7 Mar

Even though I’m vegan, I really enjoy perusing non-vegan dessert books for inspiration. Every so often, I come across a recipe or two that’s already vegan and needs no adjustments, as I did with this banana fritter recipe from Pichet Ong’s The Sweet Spot: Asian Inspired Desserts. Last fall, I served these fritters with a side of cashew-and-coconut milk-based vanilla bean ice cream that I made as one of the desserts for my final for my plated dessert class.

For my final, I had to present a printed menu and four plated desserts–including one “special diet” item–to a panel of four (non-vegan) judges, of whom two are professional chefs. Call it a “vegan complex” or what have you, but I’m always debating whether or not to tell people the dessert I’ve just given them–whether it’s a cookie, cupcake or anything else–is vegan before or after they’ve tasted it. I usually opt to tell the unsuspecting subjects after, so that I can get their honest, unbiased opinion and not have them start imagining that there’s cardboard and alfalfa sprouts in their dessert. In this case, however, I decided to be upfront about it and put it right on the menu that everything was free of animal products.

I really just wanted to show the judges that vegan desserts can not only taste good in their own right, but be presented as elegantly as one would expect in a non-vegan establishment. And that vegans have high standards, too! Since this fritter recipe calls for rice flour, I used it for my “special diet” (gluten-free) dessert. For the plate, I swiped a stripe of pomegranate sauce I’d made to add a little color, and added a lacy rice noodle garnish for height. On the other side of the garnish was the scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. During the judging, I could see that the judges were visibly enjoying them (and none of them could believe the ice cream was vegan!). In the end, I got high marks and positive feedback all around, which was not only a nice ego boost, but reinforced my belief that vegan desserts have a real place in the pastry world.

Anyway, if you’re looking to be inspired by Asian-influenced desserts, The Sweet Spot is worth checking out. And these fritters are truly delicious, so definitely go make them! Right now!

Coconut-Sesame Banana Fritters
from The Sweet Spot: Asian-Inspired Desserts by Pichet Ong (called “Fried Bananas” in the book)

Ingredients
1 2/3 cups glutinous rice flour
1 1/3 cups shredded  unsweetened dried coconut
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp salt
1 3/4 cups coconut milk
1/4 cup white sesame seeds, divided
Canola or veggie oil for frying
16 baby bananas (I cut up 5-6 regular bananas into two inch chunks)

Directions
1. Whisk the flour, shredded coconut, sugar, salt, half of the sesame seeds and coconut in a bowl into a smooth batter and let rest for an hour.
2. Heat oil to 350 F (you can just test it without a thermometer by dropping a little batter in the oil, which should sizzle when ready). While the oil is heating up, chop your bananas into two inch pieces (or just have the peeled baby bananas ready if you’re using those instead). When the oil is ready, coat the bananas with batter and and lower into the oil. Fry for about two minutes on each side, or until golden brown.
3. Sprinkle the remaining sesame seeds on the fritters. Serve warm, with ice cream.

4 Responses to “Coconut-Sesame Banana Fritters”

  1. bora March 7, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Absolutely genius!!! You are amazing.

    • Jen March 7, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      I hardly think of myself as a genius (especially considering that with the exception of the ice cream, the components of this dessert were all borrowed), but thanks for the compliment!

  2. Chrysta March 7, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Oh my god Jen this looks so beautiful!
    And knowing you I know how good it must taste too :)
    I’ll have to try this out soon!

    • Jen March 7, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Thanks! Yes, try it. The times I’ve made them, they practically go straight out of the pan into my mouth.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

